Rosters set for Phil Bryant All-Star basketball games

Foothill’s Bill Elliott will coach the North in the Phil Bryant All-Star Game on March 17 in Chico. On his squad is Cougar Josiah Hutt. (Photo by Mike Daly / Shasta County Sports)

The lineups have been set for the 24th annual Phil Bryant All-Star basketball games. The boys and girls games are set for March 17 at Pleasant Valley’s Varley Gym. The girls tip off at 4 p.m., while the boys take the floor at 6 p.m.

Tickets for the game are $5 per person with 12 and under free. In addition to the games, the girls will compete in a 3-point shooting contest at halftime, while the boys halftime features a dunk contest.

The boys North squad will be coached by Foothill’s Bill Elliott and the roster features the Cougars’ Josiah Hutt. In addition, Enterprise’s Khristian Clements and Adam Shoff join the Foothill sharpshooter. From Shasta, Caden Turner and Caden Cushman join West Valley’s Lambert Salvatierra, Anderson’s Cody Hooper and U-Prep’s Jordan Miller. Also playing for the North are Redding Christian standout Austin Larson, Modoc’s Michael Rush, Weed’s Xavier Martinez, Mount Shasta’s Kole Ricomini and Kody Bauman.

The South boys are coached by Paradise’s Jerry Cleek, who will be joined by Bobcats Nick Baker and Joe Lawrie. Also playing for south are Corning’s Bryce Armstrong, Lassen’s Hayden Chittock, Jonathon Corchado of Pierce, Anthony Davalos of Williams, Butte Vally’s Zack Hensley, Colusa’s Conner Saso, Ikappani Charter School’s Earl Johnson and American Christian Academy’s Matteo Mancasola. A trio of Pleasant Valley players also will take their home floor for the game, including Treyson Keating, Daniel Montoya and Tyler Otterlei.

The North girls team is coached by Alysa Scala, who led Etna to a Northern California Division VI title. Lion Jessica Dean will join her coach along with Foothill pair Riley Wallen and Jenna Wallace. Enterprise’s D’zire Lewis is on the roster as are Anderson’s Crytsa Papesh and Gabby Rosales. West Valley’s Jenna Adkins and Ashley Lewis will play with Yreka’s Lena Fogle, Trinity’s Lauren Harper, Butte Valley’s Cristal Perez and Modoc’s Nicole Yasumi.

For the South, the coach is Lassen’s Jessica Larson. The team is comprised of Lassen’s Jamie Larson and Ellie Stewart, Oroville’s Callie Baxter and Charliza Truex, Megan Collins of Biggs, Hamilton’s Kathryn Dowdy, Marissa Peters and Claire Maghan of Willows, Red Bluff’s Carissa Twitchell and Jesse Miller, Gridley’s Maddie Tull, Chico’s Savannah Wahl and Pleasant Valley’s Chloe Mayer.

Phil Bryant was a long-time Westwood High School coach whose vision started the prestigious game in 1995 before retiring to Lake Tahoe. However, the tradition he started has been maintained as participants from the Northern Section vie in the games pitting the North and the South.

In addition to the games, scholarships for $500 in honor of Mitch Padula are handed to participants who write a compelling essay.

About Aaron Williams

Aaron Williams has been involved in the North State sports scene for nearly two decades. He spent eight years as the Sports Editor for the local newspaper and another four more as the voice of high school football on the radio. In addition to coaching freshman football, Williams is also the public address announcer for the Shasta College football and basketball teams.

View all posts by Aaron Williams