Connect with us

Anderson Cubs

All-Northern Section football teams released

Cade Lambert was one of three West Valley players named to the All-Northern Section football first team joining Bryan Miller and Wyatt Reginato. There were 14 Shasta County players named to either the first or second teams that are chosen by working media members covering Northern Section teams. (Photo by Maddie Harrell / Shasta County Sports)

Fourteen Shasta County players were named to the 2019 All-Northern Section football team — seven on the first team and seven on the second team — announced Wednesday.

West Valley had a trio of players named to the first team with guard Bryan Miller, linebacker Cade Lambert and safety Wyatt Reginato chosen from the Eagles. Two Foothill Cougars — Tyler Carey at wide receiver and Brandon Merryman (all-purpose) were selected along with Anderson wideout Marquice Crowell and Shasta tackle Jason Kealiinohomoku.

Second-team selections include a trio from Shasta — guard Logan Thibodeau, defensive end Keiton Spengler and linebacker Isaiah Pena. West Valley showed out with a pair of second-team defensive picks of linebacker Jacob Johnston and safety Garrett Thibodeau. Anderson wide receiver Christian Teague and Fall River’s Timmy Westlund as an all-purpose choice round out the  representatives from Shasta County.

Paradise coach Rick Prinz was chosen as Coach of the Year for leading the Bobcats on a magical run to the Northern Section title game. Bobcats’ back Tyler Harrison was named Offensive Player of the Year and Sutter’s Mario Ayotte was the Defensive Player of the Year.

The All-Northern Section team is voted on by media members including Shasta County Sports, the Chico Enterprise-Record, the Marysville Appeal-Democrat, MaxPreps and the Redding Record-Searchlight.

The All-league selections (chosen by the individual leagues) were published last month. Coming soon will be the Shasta County Sports All-County football teams.

Players who received disciplinary action from on-field incidents were penalized during the voting process.

2019 All-Northern Section Football Team

Coach of the Year – Rick Prinz, Paradise
Offensive Player of the Year – Tyler Harrison, Paradise
Defensive Player of the Year – Mario Ayotte, Sutter

First Team offense
QB – Jake Hamman, Chico
RB – Tyler Harrison, Paradise
RB – Cory McIntyre, Sutter
WR – Marquice Crowell, Anderson
WR – Tyler Carey, Foothill
WR – Abe Del Real, Chico
T – Jason Kealiinohomoku, Shasta
T – Bryce Driver, Sutter
G – Kevin Brugmann, Sutter
G – Bryan Miller, West Valley
C – Blake White, Paradise
AP – Brandon Merryman, Foothill
K – Dante Jackson, Pleasant Valley

First team defense
DE – Max Gipson, Sutter
DE – Ashton Wagner, Paradise
DT – Jose Velasquez, Paradise
LB – Mario Ayotte, Sutter
LB – Cade Lambert, West Valley
LB – Ramon Campos, Chico
LB – Austin York, Pleasant Valley
CB – Marvelous Owens, Chico
CB – Roman Resendez, Sutter
S – Wyatt Reginato, West Valley
S – Nick Moroni, Sutter
P – Gavin McAuliffe, East Nicolaus

Second team offense
QB – Brock Wolf, Lassen
RB – Hunter Landingham, Los Molinos
RB – Tariq Parker, Wheatland
WR – Aaron Ogburn, Lassen
WR – Christian Teague, Anderson
TE – Luke Voorhees, Pierce
T – Ernesto Gonzales, Chico
T – Kasten Ortiz, Paradise
G – Logan Thibodeau, Shasta
G – Elijah Morales, Lassen
AP – Shavon Gramps-Green, Biggs
K – Gannon Agnew, Chico

Second team defense
DE – Keiton Spengler, Shasta
DE – Grant Garrelson, PV
DT – Nathan Paddock, PV
LB – Isaiah Pena, Shasta
LB – Josh Alvies, Paradise
LB – Jacob Johnston, West Valley
CB – Tyler Hooks, Paradise
CB – Hunter Foster, Orland
S – Garrett Thibodeau, West Valley
S – Timmy Westlund, Fall River
P – Aldo Ambriz, Williams

Aaron Williams has been involved in the North State sports scene for nearly two decades. He spent eight years as the Sports Editor for the local newspaper and another four more as the voice of high school football on the radio. Williams has coached various sports at the high school level over the past decade, most recently at Shasta High, and is also the public address announcer for the Shasta College football and basketball teams.

More in Anderson Cubs