Connect with us

Anderson Cubs

All-Northern Section football team released; Sulzer & Gordon named MVPs

Seven West Valley Eagles were named to the All-Northern Section Football Team, announced Wednesday. Among the honors for the Eagles included Bailey Sulzer earning the Defensive MVP and Greg Grandell earning the Coach of the Year nod.

West Valley’s Bailey Sulzer (left) and Foothill’s Jayden Gordon are the Northern Section MVPs for the 2018 season as voted on by media members. (Photos by Mike Daly/Shasta County Sports)

Seven West Valley Eagles were named to the All-Northern Section Football Team, announced Wednesday. Among the honors for the Eagles included Bailey Sulzer earning the Defensive MVP and Greg Grandell earning the Coach of the Year nod.

The Eagles, who fell to eventual state champion Rio Linda in the NorCal 5-AA Regional Bowl Game, won the Northern Section Division III title, going 12-2 on the season and fulfilling a promise to win the Section Title for fallen teammate Tyson Wacker, who died from injuries suffered in an Oct. 18 car accident. Wacker was named posthumously to the All-Section team.

Sulzer, in addition to being the Defensive MVP, was also a first-team linebacker choice as he led the Eagles with 150 tackles, including 95 solo tackles and 17 tackles for a loss. He added seven sacks, one interception, two fumble recoveries and four forced fumbles for the 10-2 Eagles. On offensive, Sulzer was equally deadly, running for a section-best 2,054 yards and 29 TDs for West Valley.

On the offensive side of the ball, Foothill senior quarterback Jayden Gordon was name Offensive MVP after leading the Cougars to a Division II semifinal berth and nearly 30 point per game. Gordon threw for 1,434 yards and 14 touchdowns and added 1,321 more yards rushing with 22 TDs on the ground. A true dual-threat, Gordon’s run-first mentality matured over the season to where he was adept at beating teams with either his arm or legs.

The All-Northern Section team is voted on by media members including Shasta County Sports, The Chico Enterprise-Record, The Marysville Appeal-Democrat, MaxPreps and the Redding Record-Searchlight.

The other West Valley players named to the All Section teams include: Brock Taylor, a first-team defensive end; Sulzer, a first-team linebacker in addition to the Defensive MVP honor; Dagen Johnson-Sanders, a first-team cornerback; Devin Low, a first-team safety; Logan Gonzalez, a second-team defensive tackle; Cade Lambert, a second-team linebacker; and Wacker, a second-team defensive end.

Offensive lineman David Rivera the lone Shasta player selected and the only other Shasta County player to land on the offensive first team. Undersized for a lineman, Rivera was the perfect mix of strength and athleticism in the Wolves’ Wing-T system. Rivera was quick enough on the pull to get out in space and strong enough to bury an unsuspecting defender on the trap.

Anderson’s Mario Martinez was the lone first-team defensive player from Shasta County not on West Valley. Martinez was an All-Northern Athletic League pick and had 116 tackles, including 26 tackles for a loss. A versatile player, Martinez could line up as a down lineman or linebacker on D.

Fellow Cub Joe Carillo was named as a second-team center, while Big Blue running back Parker Phillips was a second-team back after rushing for 1,843 yards and 28 scores.

U-Prep’s Jordan Miller was the second team tight end and Fall River’s Bailey Small the second team kicker.

Stay tuned for the All-Shasta County team will be released soon.

2018 All-Northern Section Football Team

Offensive MVP — Jayden Gordon, Foothill
Defensive MVP — Bailey Sulzer, West Valley
Coach of the Year — Greg Grandell, West Valley

First Team Offense
QB – Tanner Hughes, Pleasant Valley
RB – Dominic Wiggins, Paradise
RB – Jorge Moran, Gridley
WR – Chandler Monahan, Lassen
WR – Caleb Cooley, Pleasant Valley
TE – Wyatt Dreesman, Gridley
T – George Becker, Gridley
T – Ian Novak, East Nicolaus
G – Michael Stahel, Pleasant Valley
G – David Rivera, Shasta
C – Trevor Curtis, Paradise
ATH – Jayden Gordon, Foothill
K – Caden Crumm, Pleasant Valley

First Team Defense
DE – Brock Taylor, West Valley
DE – Mario Martinez, Anderson
DT – Jose Martinez, Chico
DT – Travis Tedder, Sutter
LB – Jeff Fitzgerald, Sutter
LB – Dyllan Hyde, East Nicolaus
LB – Bailey Sulzer, West Valley
CB – Dagen Johnson-Sanders, West Valley
CB – Jacob Weldon, Paradise
S – Devin Low, West Valley
S – Anthony Thomas, Chico
P – Corey McIntyre, Sutter

Second Team Offense
QB – Ty Thomas, Chico
RB – Tucker St. Andre, Lassen
RB – Parker Phillips, Anderson
WR – Logan Robertson, Red Bluff
WR – Jace Buck, Durham
TE – Jordan Miller, U- Prep
OL – CeeJay Rothenberger, Chico
OL – Paul O’Brien, Sutter
OL – Winston Capucion, Chico
OL – Derrick Budmark, Modoc
C – Joe Carrillo, Anderson
ATH – Garrett McAuliff, East Nicolaus
K – Bailey Small, Fall River

Second Team Defense
DE – Tyson Wacker, West Valley
DE – Nick Smith, Durham
DT – Logan Gonzalez, West Valley
LB – Cade Lambert, West Valley
LB – Trevor Rickson, Paradise
LB – Kobe Hood, Chico
LB – Ryan Olivera, Sutter
DB – Akia Ramirez, Pleasant Valley
DB – Hayden Chittock, Lassen
DB – Jacob Shermer, Orland
DB – Daniel Carrion, Winters
P – Dante Jackson, Pleasant Valley

Staff Reports is content produced by the Shasta County Sports team.

More in Anderson Cubs