2019 All-Northern Section softball team released

Enterprise’s Shelby Keltner was one of three Shasta County players named to the 2019 All-Northern Section softball team. She joins CV’s Raegan Breedlove on the second team, while Shasta catcher Alyssa Pope earned a first-team nod. (Matt Bates / Enterprise-Record)

Three Shasta County girls were named to the 2019 All-Northern Section softball team, released Tuesday morning.

Shasta’s Alyssa Pope, headed to Penn on a softball scholarship, is the lone first-team pick from Shasta County, while pitchers Shelby Keltner of Enterprise and Central Valley’s Raegan Breedlove were named as second teamers.

East Nicolaus pulled off a daily double with Avery Croxall being named Section MVP and Neil Stinson earned Coach of the Year honors.

• Pope hit .548 with 40 hits and 19 RBI for a Wolves team that struggled to find the win column this season. In addition, Pope hit six round-trippers, 12 doubles and was a consistent force behind the plate for Shasta’s young arms.

• Keltner was 10-6 for the Hornets, who went 13-9 on the year. She struck out 174 with only 18 walks in 104.1 innings with a 1.95 ERA. At the plate, Keltner hit .364 with seven RBI and 24 hits.

• Breedlove, a junior, was 11-4 for the Falcons with a 1.27 ERA and 201 strikeouts in 99 innings. At the dish, she hit .500 in 48 at-bats with five home runs and 26 RBI.

The All-Northern Section team is voted on by media members including Shasta County Sports, The Chico Enterprise-Record, The Marysville Appeal-Democrat, MaxPreps and the Redding Record-Searchlight. BOLD = Shasta County player

First Team
P – Kylee Potes, Las Plumas
P – Avery Croxall, East Nicolaus
P – Marissa Woolsey, Chico
C – Alyssa Pope, Shasta
1B – Alexis Zamora, Red Bluff
2B – Riley Grigsby, East Nicolaus
3B – Darcy Gillen, Sutter
SS – Savannah Price, East Nicolaus
OF – Cleo Smith, Etna
OF – Macy Spearman, Chico
OF – Nina Pennisi, Chico
AP – Hailey Peterson, Sutter

Second Team
P – Shelby Keltner, Enterprise
P – Raegan Breedlove, Central Valley
P – Sarah Reineman, Red Bluff
C – Emma Gaytan, East Nicolaus
1B – Joyce Murray, PV
2B – Lainey Nevis, Lassen
IF – Megan Collins, Biggs
SS – Cailey Rizzardo, Etna
OF – Preslie Hewitt, East Nicolaus
OF – Kendall Southam, PV
OF – Bailey Reid, Chico
AP – Tayler Berens, Willows