2019 All Northern Section baseball teams released

Foothill’s Dustin Niles was the lone first-team representative from Shasta County on the All-Northern Section baseball team. He was joined by teammate Tyler Muszanowski, who landed on the second team along with U-Prep’s Dylan Cabral and Shasta’s Brian Kilgore. (Photo by T.J. Holmes / Shasta County Sports)

Foothill junior Dustin Niles was the lone Shasta County representative to the All-Northern Section first team, while the second team saw fellow Cougar Tyler Muszanowski named as well as Shasta’s Brian Kilgore and U-Prep’s Dylan Cabral.

The Section MVP was Pleasant Valley’s Colin Barber, who hit .493 for the section champion Vikings added 10 home runs and 42 RBI. He had a .643 on-base percentage and 1.013 slugging percentage.

Durham’s Tony Longueria was named Coach of the Year leading the Trojans to a 16-6 mark and reaching the section finals in his first season at the helm.

• Niles was 7-1 for the Cougars with a 1.15 ERA in 54.2 innings. He had better than a 2-to-1 strikeout to walk ratio, allowed nine earned runs on the year and didn’t give up a home run.

• Muzszanowski, a senior, led Foothill with 23 hits and 20 RBI. He batted .338 for the 19-11 Cougars, who fell to Red Bluff in the Division II semifinals.

• Kilgore was 4-2 with a 1.60 ERA, 48 punch outs and nearly a 3-to-1 strikeout to walk ratio.

• Cabral was second in the section with 119 strikeouts in 58 innings while going 6-4 for the Panthers. He finished with a 3.62 ERA. In addition, he he hit .393 with 35 hits, 29 RBI and one home run.

The All-Northern Section team is voted on by media members including Shasta County Sports, The Chico Enterprise-Record, The Marysville Appeal-Democrat, MaxPreps and the Redding Record-Searchlight. BOLD = Shasta County player

First Team
P — Connor Pelletier, PV
P — Dustin Niles, Foothill
P — Austin Dorman, Sutter
C — Cole Dyer, Lassen
1B — Myles Davis, PV
2B — Josh Taylor, Chico
3B — Ruben Valencia, Winters
SS — Blake Tweedt, Red Bluff
OF — Colin Barber, Pleasant Valley
OF — Austin Caviness, PV
OF — Bryce Tweedt, Red Bluff
AP — Daniel Carrion, Winters

Second Team
P — Brian Kilgore, Shasta
P — Jake Alexander, Corning
P — Drew Bradbury, Colusa
C — Gary Molina, Winters
1B — Dylan Cabral, U-Prep
IF — Tyler Muszanowski, Foothill
IF — Cory McIntyre, Sutter
SS — Miles Ormachea, Lassen
OF — Atlas Martinez, Winters
OF — Shane Taylor, Chico
OF — Colby Stillwell, Willows
AP — Wyatt Larranaga, Modoc